If your device has been lost or stolen and you don’t think you’ll get it back, the next best thing is to protect all of your important data stored on it. This is where the second security option comes into play.
Tap on ‘Set up Lock & Erase’ and you will see a simple settings screen with a box you can tick to remotely lock and erase the device. Doing so will bring up a floating window whereby you must grant some administrator rights to the app that involves erasing all data, changing the screen unlock password or just locking the screen to prevent prying eyes from seeing what’s on it. Tap on Activate and two new options will appear on the map screen.